Treaty 2 was an agreement established August 21, 1871, between the Queen Victoria and various First Nations in southwest Manitoba and a small part of southeast Saskatchewan; treaty signatories from this region included the Ojibway tribes.

This would be the second treaty signed since the 1867 formation of the modern Canadian government, and one year after the province Manitoba joined the Canadian Confederation.

It was also known as the “Manitoba Post Treaty,” named after the fur trading post of the Hudson’s Bay Company where the treaty was signed. Manitoba Post was located on the northwest shore of Lake Manitoba. The terms of this treaty were similar to that of Treaty 1.

Treaty 1 and Treaty 2 were amended by an Order-in-Council on April 30, 1875, to add provisions which were originally promised verbally by the government. Similar “outside promises” were included in the text of 1873’s Treaty 3, adding further pressure on the government to include such provisions in the earlier treaties.